Google has announced a new update for Maps on Android and iOS that lets you temporarily share your real-time location with family and friends. The upgrade will start rolling out "soon worldwide," though an exact release date was not specified.

As outlined on the firm's blog, sharing your whereabouts couldn't be easier. All you have to do is slide out the side menu, tap "Share Location," then choose who you want to share it with and for how long (the interval ranges from 15 minutes to 3 days).

Alternatively, you have the option to enable it from the turn-by-turn navigation screen. However, when activated this way, it will automatically terminate once you reach your destination.

Best of all, the person tracking you doesn't need to have a Google account. You can share a link tied to your location using any messenger application, which can then be opened in a desktop or mobile web browser.

Want to see real-time location sharingin action?

Check it out below: