Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 5 still has two major question marks hovering over the video gaming landscape: “What kind of tunes can we jam to while playing?” and “How does a game completely overhaul its graphical style less than two months from release? Developer Robomodo has answers for both in an interview with GameInformer.

In regards to the graphical change, Robomodo boss Josh Tsui calls it an evolving process.

I wouldn’t say there was a single decision, per se – this is the design we’ve been working toward internally for some time now. But as with everything else, it’s an evolving process, and we’ve pushed the visual style forward in increments to balance it alongside other technical benchmarks and gameplay and multiplayer optimizations. So what you’re seeing now is more the next step in a design rather than a totally new concept.

I had just assumed that the universal negative reaction towards the game’s initial reveal had something to do with it, and the shift was a last ditch effort to salvage the project. It actually worked I think, but I still think the new graphics need an extra month or so to be tweaked and toyed with.

As for the music, Robomodo wants to recapture the fast, punkish tracks (with a sprinkling of hip-hop and rock) from the series’ heyday, but it is trying to do so without actually leaning on any older songs. Check out the full list below.

  • Anti-Flag – “Stars and Stripes”
  • Atmosphere – “Southsiders”
  • Black Pistol Fire – “Hipster Shakes”
  • Bully – “Milkman”
  • Cloud Nothings – “I’m Not Part of Me”
  • Cold Cave – “A Little Death to Laugh”
  • Connie Price and the Keystones – “International Hustler”
  • Crass Mammoth – “All 149”
  • Deaf Poets – “Degenerate Mind”
  • Death – “Keep On Knocking”
  • Death From Above 1979 – “Virgins”
  • Deer Mother – “When The Wolves Come Out”
  • Doomtree – “Mini Brute”
  • Fake P – “Rorschach”
  • Family Force 5 -“Raised By Wolves”
  • Four Year Strong -“Go Down In History”
  • Harlan – “Moment To Myself”
  • Hundred Visions – “Our Ritual”
  • Hungry Hands – “Highline”
  • Icon For Hire -“Cynics and Critics”
  • Killer Be Killed -“Wings of Feather and Wax”
  • New Politics -“Everywhere I Go”
  • Plague Vendor – “Black Sap Scriptures”
  • Ratatat -“Cream on Chrome”
  • RattBlack – “Skate Rock”
  • Royal Blood – “Little Monster”
  • State Champs – “Secrets”
  • Temples – “Shelter Song”
  • The Orwells – “Who Needs You”
  • The Schitzophonics – “Rat Trap”
  • The Sheds – “Bad Things are Bad”
  • Yogi & Skrillex – “Burial”

Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 5 will be released on Sept. 29 for the Xbox One and PlayStation 4. The PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 versions will follow on Nov. 10, but these will be scrapped of the game’s 20 player online sessions, aka, its most important lure.

See at Amazon

We may earn a commission for purchases using our links. Learn more.