This is certainly one way to get back into the good graces of the gaming community. As a way to say sorry and give some award to the patience and support of their consumers, Sony is offering the PSN users affected by the hacking incited thirty days to claim up to four free games.

You read that right: four free games. Two for PSP owners and two for PS3 owners. You'll have thirty days to claim them from the date the PlayStation Store is brought back online, and then you'll be able to keep them forever. This software comes in addition to the full month of PlayStation Plus that's being given out for free and a weekend of selected "On Us" movie rentals from the PSN service.

The games offered for the US and Europe are different, so here's each list for each system.

United States: PS3

  • Dead Nation
  • inFAMOUS
  • LittleBigPlanet
  • Super Stardust HD
  • Wipeout HD + Fury

United States: PSP

  • LittleBigPlanet (PSP)
  • ModNation Racers
  • Pursuit Force
  • Killzone Liberation

Europe: PS3

  • LittleBigPlanet
  • Infamous
  • Wipeout HD/Fury
  • Ratchet and Clank: Quest for Booty
  • Dead Nation

Europe: PSP

  • LittleBigPlanet PSP
  • ModNation PSP
  • Pursuit Force
  • Killzone Liberation

Say it with us now, "Wow."

Sure, the free games won't rectify the sense of insecurity and mistrust that's been born out of this hacking incident. However, the free offerings will go a long way to demonstrate the fact that Sony is working to show that they care for their customer base. It will be hard to argue that Sony has completely abandoned their fans once this roster of free content is brought up.

Remember, these titles are not available yet. The offer will start once the PlayStation Store is brought back online. We will be sure to notify you when that happens. In the same article, we'll link back to this list of free content. We want you to have the awesome free stuff as much as us, so we'll remind you.

Once the store goes live, you'll have 30 days to access the games. Once you download them, they're yours to keep forever.

[via Joystiq]