HMD Global has started sending out invitations on behalf of Nokia for an event it's holding in London on August 16. While the firm didn't provide any details about what it's planning to showcase at the gathering, we're guessing it's the long-rumored Nokia 8, which recently surfaced in a prematurely-published listing on its website.

Expected to be Nokia's first Android flagship smartphone, the Nokia 8 should boast a 5.3-inch QHD display, a Snapdragon 835 processor, 4GB of RAM and dual rear-facing cameras with Carl Zeiss lenses. Recent rumors suggest that the Finnish company will also offer a dual-SIM model in select markets, including China.

Could the Nokia 8 launch in the U.S.?

The event is scheduled to kick off at 7:30 p.m. (GMT), 2:30 p.m. (EDT) and 11:30 a.m. (PDT), leading us to believe that the Nokia 8 will launch in Asia, Europe and North America — or why else would the firm have planned for the unveiling to take place at a communal time? That's just us speculating, though. Nothing's confirmed.