Nintendo Logo

The Consumer Technology Association, or CTA, is the same body that puts on CES every year. They also host their own consumer tech Hall of Fame.

The company announced the 2016 class of inductees yesterday, and among the roster of consumer tech pioneers was former Nintendo CEO Hiroshi Yamauchi. Here's the full list of inductees.

Visionary Retailer: Sidney Cooper – Silo
Father of Bluetooth: Dr. Jaap Haartsen – Ericsson
Prominent Distribution Pioneer: David B. Lorsch – DBL Distributing
Transformational Technologist: Chuck Pagano – ESPN
Legendary Journalist: Steve Smith – TWICE Magazine
Home Automation Developer: Joel Spira – Lutron
Pioneering Accessories Executive: Nat Tiffen – The Tiffen Company
Video Game Futurist: Hiroshi Yamauchi – Nintendo

Renowned GPS Developers: Norm Hunt, Ed Tuck, Don Rea – Magellan

Distinguished Digital HDTV Grand Alliance Leaders
Dr. Peter Bingham, Phillips Labs President;
Jim Carnes, Sarnoff Labs CEO;
Dr. Curt Crawford, AT&T Microelectronics President;
Dr. Jae Lim, MIT Professor;
Jerry Pearlman, Zenith Electronics CEO; and Donald Rumsfeld, General Instrument CEO.

The inductees were nominated "by manufacturers, retailers and industry journalists," and they were selected by media and industry professionals. Yamauchi joins a strong class, too.

Yamauchi served as the President and CEO of Nintendo for a very long time. He took the job in 1949 and stayed until stepping down in 2005. Over the course of his career, his net worth made him the 19th wealthiest person in Japan.

Along with his accomplishments at Nintendo, Yamauchi became the majority owner of the Seattle Mariners MLB team in 1992. Nintendo just announced that they're selling the majority of their interests in that team as part of their effort to refocus their investments.

Yamauchi passed away at the age of 85 on September 19, 2013. His family should be proud that he's being honored by the CTA.