Netflix has released the first high-resolution images of the upcoming Gilmore Girls revival episodes known as Gilmore Girls: Seasons.

Running for seven seasons on The WB – and the final seasons on The CW – from 2000 to 2007, Gilmore Girls established a loyal fan base that continues to this day. (You can count Managing Editor Joey Davidson and myself amongst those fans) The series sadly lost its creators Amy Sherman-Palladino and Daniel Palladino in the final seasons, meaning they didn’t get to the end the story they way they wanted. Sherman-Palladino had let it be known early on in the run that she had always known what the final four words of the series would be, but never got to hear them as she wasn’t with the series when it ended.

Netflix has now commissioned four 90-minute movies that will pick up nine years after the end of the series, and it has been confirmed that they will indeed end with those fateful four words.

While pictures have been leaking out from the set everywhere you turn, and Entertainment Weekly ran a feature on it last week, Netflix has now released the first official seven pictures.  From the images it appears that Lorelai (Lauren Graham) and Luke (Scott Patterson) are still a couple, which will thrill most fans. The big question mark, however, is Rory (Alexis Bledel) in a classroom at her alma mater Chilton. When the series ended she left to become a journalist, so why she is in the classroom is a bit of a puzzle. Did she decide to become a teacher? Is she a guest lecturer. We just don’t know yet.

The list of returning cast members has swollen to over 40 with Melissa McCarthy – who played Sookie the chef – confirming just last week that she would indeed return for at least some presence on the show. The cast list now stands at:

  • Lauren Graham – Lorelai
  • Alexis Bledel – Rory
  • Kelly Bishop – Emily
  • Scott Patterson – Luke
  • Matt Czuchry – Logan
  • Milo Ventimiglia – Jess
  • Jared Padalecki – Dean
  • Melissa McCarthy – Sookie
  • Yanic Truesdale – Michel
  • Sean Gunn – Kirk
  • Rini Bell – Lulu
  • Keiko Agena – Lane
  • Todd Lowe – Zach
  • Emily Kuroda – Mrs. Kim
  • Liza Weil – Paris
  • Danny Strong – Doyle
  • David Sutcliffe – Christopher
  • Chris Eigeman – Digger
  • Michael Winters – Taylor
  • Jackson Douglas – Jackson
  • Vanessa Marano – April
  • Rose Abdoo – Gypsy
  • Liz Torres – Miss Patty
  • Sally Struthers – Babette
  • Ted Rooney – Morey
  • Sebastian Bach – Gil
  • John Cabrera – Brian
  • Mike Gandolfi – Andrew
  • Tanc Sade – Finn
  • Alan Loayza – Colin
  • Aris Alvarado – Caesar
  • Gregg Henry – Mitchum
  • Biff Yeager – Tom
  • Dakin Matthews – Headmaster Charleston
  • Alex Borstein – Drella and/or Miss Celine
  • Carole King – Sophie
  • Nick Holmes – Robert
  • Jim Jansen – Reverend Skinner
  • Brian Tarantina – Bootsy
  • Grant Lee-Philips – Town Troubadour
  • Sparky – Paul Anka
  • Sutton Foster – New Character
  • Stacey Oristano – New Character
  • Bailey De Young – New Character
  • Claudia de Vasco – Clementina (new character)

The email that accompanied the photos states that the episodes will debut on Netflix this year, but no firm date was given.