In celebrating the 25th anniversary of Metal Gear Solid, Konami is releasing yet another bundle for the popular stealth action series called Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection. This bundle will include every major game in the series in one convenient box, including releases of:

  • Metal Gear Solid
  • Metal Gear Solid: VR Missions
  • Metal Gear Solid 2: HD Edition
  • Metal Gear Solid 3: HD Edition
  • MGS3 includes MSX versions of Metal Gear 1 and 2
  • Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker HD Edition
  • Metal Gear Solid IV: Trophy Edition

Konami President Tomoyuki Tsuboi knows that this is Konami’s biggest and most important franchise, and he wants to let it be known that it’s still something everyone should experience.

“We wanted to give Metal Gear Solid fans the opportunity to experience the series from beginning to end, all on one console. With the collection’s multiple titles, players can truly see how Metal Gear Solid evolved into the critically acclaimed and beloved franchise it is today.”

Sounds like a nice deal, but I wish I had known about it before dropping money on the Metal Gear Solid HD Collection released not even two years ago. Seeing as I already own Metal Gear Solid through the PSN and an original release of Metal Gear Solid 4, I don’t think I will be needing this box any time soon. VR Missions is not worth that much to me anyway.

Metal Gear Solid: The Legacy Collection is a PlayStation 3 exclusive and will be released this June in North America. The price point is not known. Development for Metal Gear Solid: Ground Zeroes and Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain are both currently underway at Kojima Productions.