We should note, however, that broadcasts don’t save automatically. Users will need to manually hit the ‘Save’ icon that appears in the top right-hand corner once they’ve ended their stream.

That doesn’t mean viewers will be able to go back and watch streams at a later date, though, as live videos still won’t be saved and uploaded to Instagram.

It was originally left out to help users feel more comfortable

When Instagram Live launched, the firm’s head of product Kevin Weil defended the omission by claiming it was left out to help users feel more comfortable with live-streaming. It’s unclear why it’s being added now, but we’re not going to look this gift horse in the mouth.