Although we've already seen several pictures from the Doctor Strange set, Marvel on Tuesday finally announced production on the film is underway. With the announcement, the studio has also revealed the movie's official cast list, along with a synopsis. If you were expecting Doctor Strange to be one of Marvel's weirder films in the MCU, it sounds like you won't be disappointed.

Below is the full cast list, though Marvel doesn't reveal who is playing which character (obviously Cumberbatch is playing Strange).

  • Benedict Cumberbatch
  • Chiwetel Ejiofor
  • Rachel McAdams
  • Michael Stuhlbard
  • Mads Mikkelsen
  • Tilda Swinton

With that, we also got a full synopsis, which talks of magic and alternate dimensions.

"Doctor Strange" follows the story of neurosurgeon Doctor Stephen Strange who, after a horrific car accident, discovers the hidden world of magic and alternate dimensions.

Marvel's Phase 3, which kicks off with Captain America: Civil War early next year, will be the studio's most ambitious yet, and consist of 11 films over the course of just four years. After two films in 2016, Marvel will release three films a year in 2017, 2018 and 2019.

Doctor Strange is set for a Nov. 4, 2016 release.