Before Christopher Eccelston’s Doctor met Billie Piper’s Rose, or Matt Smith’s incarnation tried fish fingers and custard, there were seven Doctor Whos, and now you can experience their adventures on BritBox.

With the new season of Doctor Who set to premiere on April 15, it’s the perfect time to go back and visit where this whole adventure began with the original episodes that aired from 1963 to 1989. If you’re never seen any of these older episodes, then you’re in for an experience as they are not nearly of the same visual quality as what you enjoy today.

Luckily the stories were fairly solid, otherwise, it would have never had the loyal fan base it did for so many years, even when there no new episodes for so many years. But as someone who was a fan for years, even I look back at times and wonder how I ever got past the sets and effects.

Don’t believe us? Just look at some of the various TARDIS interiors and exteriors below.

So many Doctors!

If you aren’t familiar with the original run of the series, the Doctors were as follows:

  • William Hartnell – The First Doctor
  • Patrick Troughton – The Second Doctor
  • Jon Pertwee – The Third Doctor
  • Tom Baker – The Fourth Doctor
  • Peter Davison – The Fifth Doctor
  • Colin Baker – The Sixth Doctor
  • Sylvester McCoy – The Seventh Doctor

Christopher Eccleston was the Ninth Doctor, and Paul McGann is the sadly forgotten Eighth Doctor who only had one televised appearance.

The newly added episodes to BritBox focus on the first seven incarnations of the Time Lord and you can find the episodes sorted by seasons, “Monsters,” “Companions” and more. So if you’re in the mood for a day of nothing but Daleks, have at it.

BritBox is a joint-venture between the BBC and ITV and costs $6.99 a month with a free week trial. The service also features series such as Emmerdale, Blackadder and many more.