Over the past few months, there have been reports about Uber taking advantage of location tracking options in iOS, but Apple is shutting it down. The iOS 11 update now requires developers to include a "While Using the App" option.

Before, companies weren't required to add "While Using the App." Rather, it was up to their discretion whether or not they wanted to include it. If they opted not to, iOS users only had two options: "Never" or "Always."

It's a welcome update that puts user privacy first. There's no word on whether the move is linked to reports that found Uber going around Apple by tagging devices even after the app had been deleted. This led to a tense meeting between Apple CEO Tim Cook and Uber CEO Travis Kalanick that almost got the Uber app thrown out of the App Store.

Requiring the option is one of the more underrated features being included with iOS 11.