Advertisement

Here’s how to unsend a message in WhatsApp

by Brandon Russell | October 28, 2017October 28, 2017 6:00 am PDT

Hopefully this has never happened to you. But the next time you send a message you wish you hadn’t you’ll be able to delete it. That is, if you’re a WhatsApp users.

The popular communication service is rolling out an update that will allow users to delete messages in group and one-on-one chats. WhatsApp’s FAQ page describes how the feature works:

Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.

Once a message is deleted, it will be replaced with “This messaged was deleted.”

There is a caveat, however, to this whole operation. You only have seven minutes to decide if that message you just sent should be deleted or not. Once the seven minute timer has expired, there’s no way to delete messages for everyone.

That’s not all.

WhatsApp notes in its FAQ that in order for all messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, all users must be using the latest version of the app. If you’re using the newest version and your recipient isn’t, the feature won’t be supported.

To delete a message, simply press and hold on the message you want to delete and choose the right option from the menu. WhatsApp says users can also delete multiple messages at once.

The update to delete messages should be rolling out soon.

Whatsapp

Brandon Russell

Brandon Russell enjoys writing about technology and entertainment. When he's not watching Back to the Future, you can find him on a hike or watching...

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement