Advertisement

Uber is ending the practice of tracking riders after rides have ended

by Danny Zepeda | August 30, 2017August 30, 2017 9:30 am PDT

Uber is ending its practice of tracking riders up to five minutes after rides have ended.

The tracking measure was first introduced in 2016 and offered users two options: let Uber track you even when the app wasn’t being used or turn off location services for the app entirely, forcing users to enter their destination manually.

The change will first arrive to iPhone users some time this week, followed by Android devices at a later date.

Apple had already taken measures to minimize the feature by giving its users a third option with iOS 11: the ability to limit an app’s tracking to only while the app is being used. The option has been around on iOS for a while, but before it was up to an app maker to hand this third option off to the user, which Uber opted not to.

Uber chief security officer, Joe Sullivan, said the company “made a mistake” with the feature by not disclosing its intent with users and that the company suffered “a lack of expertise” in the area. Sullivan went on to say Uber was committed to user’s privacy.

It’s been a tumultuous year for Uber. Not only was it criticized for the tracking feature, but CEO Travis Kalanick was forced to resign amid backlash of a sexual harassment scandal. It finally settled on Expedia’s Dana Khosrowshahi as a replacement, but even that is still not final yet.

Reuters

Danny Zepeda

Born and raised in Southern California, Danny grew up on a steady diet Pixar, Star Wars and Steven Spielberg movies. Unbeknownst to him, this was...

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement