There are no active ads.

Marvel vs. Capcom: Infinite launch roster and content confirmed

by Ron Duwell | August 18, 2017August 18, 2017 8:00 am EST

Months of speculation have come to a close for Marvel vs. Capcom: Infinite. Capcom has gone all-out with a huge announcement containing the entire launch roster and all of the content that will be available at launch.

Oh yeah, it also fixed Chun-Li’s face. Tony Stark and Dante still look a little goofy though.

As for the characters you’ll be playing at launch, Capcom has a pretty extensive list. The X-Men are not present, as we already knew, leaving the a gaping hole in the usual expectations for and MvC game.


  • Captain America
  • Captain Marvel
  • Doctor Strange
  • Dormammu
  • Gamora
  • Ghost Rider
  • Hawkeye
  • Hulk
  • Iron Man
  • Nova
  • Rocket Raccoon
  • Thanos
  • Thor
  • Ultron


  • Arthur
  • Bionic Commando
  • Chris Redfield
  • Chun-Li
  • Dante
  • Firebrand
  • Frank West
  • Jedah
  • Mega Man X
  • Mike Haggar
  • Nemesis
  • Ryu
  • Strider Hiryu

And unlike Street Fighter V, Capcom confirmed that Marvel vs. Capcom: Infinite will come with a host of offline options as well.

Offline Modes and Features:

Story – puts players at the center of a fierce battle as heroes from both universes come together to stop Ultron Sigma, the combined form of two robotic villains.

Arcade – recreates the classic arcade experience. Keep winning to move forward and confront the final boss in an epic showdown of skills.

Mission – players can do various tutorial missions, or try their hand at advanced character-specific challenges.

Training – set up a training area with various parameters and hone skills to improve fighting abilities.

Vs. Player 2 – go head-to-head against another player locally.

Vs. CPU – play solo against an AI-controlled opponent.

Collection – the Dr. Light Database contains numerous unlockable items, including cut scenes from the story mode, character/stage information, concept artwork and character/stage audio tracks.

Online Modes and Features:

Ranked Match – battle other players online to advance in the rankings.

Casual Match – battle other players online without the results affecting the rankings.

Beginners League – a special league fought between players of Rank 14 or lower.

Lobby – search for or create a lobby where up to 8 players can engage in simultaneous player-vs-player matches.

Rankings – view the rankings of players from all over the world.

Replay Settings – configure replay settings and view replays.

Marvel vs. Capcom: Infinite will be released on Sept. 19 for the PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC.


Ron Duwell

Ron has been living it up in Japan for the last decade, and he has no intention of leaving this technical wonderland any time soon. When he's not...