Advertisement

HTC will unveil flagship HTC U next month

HTC’s next-generation flagship will get its official unveiling next month. Nicknamed “Ocean,” the handset’s final name is thought to be HTC U, and it will be the company’s first device with a Snapdragon 835 processor. You can take a sneak peek at it in the teaser video below.

Specifications and images of the Ocean have been slowly leaking out over the past couple of months. Prior to that, HTC already promised fans it would be launching a new flagship with Qualcomm’s latest Snapdragon 835 processor sometime this year. Now the Taiwanese firm has confirmed an unveiling on May 16.

Its new handset can be seen very briefly in the short teaser clip below, which was posted on Twitter this morning. The “Squeeze for the Brilliant U” tagline appears to confirm that the device will have a touch-sensitive frame, allowing users to interact with the device by applying pressure and swipe gestures to its metal surround.

It appears the handset will look very similar to the recently-released U Ultra — as expected — but it looks noticeably slimmer in the video above. Other features and specifications are said to include 4GB of RAM, 64GB of internal storage, a 12-megapixel rear-facing camera, a 3,000mAh battery, Bluetooth 4.2, and Android 7.1 Nougat with Sense 9.

HTC will host a number of unveiling events around the world, kicking off at 2 p.m. in Taipei, 2 a.m. in New York, and 7 a.m. in London. It’s not yet clear whether fans will be able to watch the event online.

HTC

Advertisement


Killian Bell

Killian Bell is a 20-something technology journalist based in a tiny town in England. He has an obsession with that little company in Cupertino...Killian Bell is a 20-something technology journalist based in a tiny town in England. He has an obsession with that little company in Cupertino...


Advertisement

Advertisement