There are no active ads.

Advertisement

Dragon Quest XI release date event set for next month

Square Enix is the king of announcing a date to reveal a release date. It did so with a huge event for Final Fantasy XV, complete with a climactic reveal for a date that it ultimately had to change, and it will now do so for its other iconic series Dragon Quest.

The latest game in Square Enix’s longest running franchise will finally get a release date on April 11 at 2:00 PM JST. This converts into 1:00 AM EST and 10:00 PM PT, meaning that your’s truly will have it covered while everyone else sleeps.

Both YouTube and NicoNico Live will livestream the event.

Platforms and localization remain in question

The two biggest questions hovering over the event, besides the inevitable release date itself, is the platforms the game will come to this year and if we will get the game in North America. We know that Dragon Quest XI is in development for both the PlayStation 4 and Nintendo 3DS and that these versions will be released in 2017. However, the release window for the Nintendo Switch version has not been stated yet, leading some to believe that it could follow at a later date.

Square Enix also promised this year to start doing better with Dragon Quest in the North American market. While I’m pretty confident the game will be coming to the States, I’m not so sure if we’ll get an announcement at this Japanese event. Naturally, Square Enix is going to let us sweat it out.

Dragon Quest XI will be released for the PlayStation 4, Nintendo 3DS and Nintendo Switch.

Square Enix Siliconera

Ron Duwell

Ron has been living it up in Japan for the last decade, and he has no intention of leaving this technical wonderland any time soon. When he's not...

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement