New Sony smartphones, cameras and more teased in IFA invite

Sony makes everything from flagship smartphones to the upcoming PlayStation VR and, with IFA 2016 coming up early nexst month, it looks like the company could be prepping some big news across its entire lineup. The Japanese giant recently sent out invitations for its press event at the Berlin tech show, offering a glimpse at what’s in store.

On the smartphone front, Sony is expected to unveil the Xperia XR. The rumored device could feature dual-LED flash and a USB-C port. It could also sport a 5.1 or 5.3-inch Full HD display, a powerful 23-megapixel rear camera, a Snapdragon 820 processor and 3GB of RAM. Images of the Xperia XR leaked earlier this month, revealing what looks like classic industrial smartphone design.

The invitation also hints at a possible update to the company’s Action Cam series, along with new headphones, some sort of smart lamp, the PlayStation VR and something that looks like a crocodile head. We’re not sure what that last one could be, but we’re excited to find out.

Sony’s big IFA event kicks off on September 1 at 1 p.m. in Berlin (that’s 7 a.m. Eastern time and 4 a.m. Pacific). TechnoBuffalo will be there, so stick around.

PhoneArena @OnLeaks


Jacob Kleinman

Jacob Kleinman has been working as a journalist online and in print since he arrived at Wesleyan University in 2007. After graduating, he took a...