There are no active ads.


Free album of music from Japanese video game composers

by Ron Duwell | July 6, 2015July 6, 2015 6:30 pm PDT


With the changing trends in video game music leaning towards Hollywood soundtracks, many classic Japanese composers have found themselves on the outside looking in, not quite able to stick with the tide of the times. Luckily, the indie scene has provided plenty of these iconic songwriters great chances to exercise their skills once again.

Consider this free album as a resume to get some names out there.

Or just simply call it good will from a selection of really talented Japanese game composers. IMPORTED is available through Bandcamp and has 12 tracks, each from a respected name in the Japanese industry. Check out the list below.

  • Tenpei Sato (Disgaea series)
  • eiceph (Street Fighter IV)
  • Go Sato (Raiden series)
  • Dr. COVA (Phantasy Star Online and  Sonic series)
  • Takayuki Nakamura (LUMINES series and  Rodea The Sky Soldier)
  • Yu Shimoda (Mega Man 9 and  10)
  • Jupiter-B (DARIUSBURST series)
  • Takahiro Izutani (Metal Gear Solid and  Bayonetta series)
  • Marusho (F-Zero GX and  Yakuza series)
  • Yuu Miyake (Katamari Damacy series)
  • Akira Ueda (Super Mario RPG game designer)

Of course, who can refuse music from the guy who composed the Katamari Damacy games? Nobody, that’s who! I mean, just look at that list of games. Mega Man, Metal Gear Solid, Street Fighter, F-Zero, LUMINES. These are some of gaming’s most iconic soundtracks, and that can only mean one thing.

You need to download this album. Again, IMPORTED is free, so you won’t be at any loss and will have gained everything.

Bandcamp Siliconera

Ron Duwell

Ron has been living it up in Japan for the last decade, and he has no intention of leaving this technical wonderland any time soon. When he's not...