Advertisement

Platinum Games set to debut a brand new game during E3

by Joey Davidson | June 9, 2015

Platinum Games, the studio behind the likes of Bayonetta, Vanquish, Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance and The Wonderful 101, is set to announce a brand new game at E3.

The word comes from IGN as they will host the exclusive lengthy gameplay premiere for this new title on Tuesday at 3pm PT (6pm EST/10pm GMT).

With Bayonetta 2 and The Wonderful 101, Platinum Games has been a bit of a Nintendo exclusive company for the last few years. Their next game, Scalebound, has only been announced for the Xbox One, but it’s likely at least six months away.

What will the studio announce? We have absolutely no idea.

Personally, I’d like to see Hideki Kamiya and company leave the action genre for a stint and create something along the lines of Okami. Okami is a long and sprawling adventure game with a beautiful art style and fantastic combat system. It was a Capcom game developed by the former Clover Studio, so I’m not looking for a sequel. Kamiya directed the title back then, and I’d love to see him take another crack at the genre.

Okami wasn’t for everyone. It was a very talky game with a lot of padded length. I loved it for that, but I recognize that some found it to be a little much. Trim the excess, produce something of a similar style and I’ll be extremely excited.

Whatever they’re announcing, stay tuned.

IGN

Advertisement


Joey Davidson

Joey Davidson leads the gaming department here on TechnoBuffalo. He's been covering games online for more than 10 years, and he's a lover of all...Joey Davidson leads the gaming department here on TechnoBuffalo. He's been covering games online for more than 10 years, and he's a lover of all...


Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement