There are no active ads.
technobuffalo_1x1_Pushdown

Advertisement

Xiaomi to stream Mi phone unveil on Thursday

by Jacob Kleinman | April 21, 2015April 21, 2015 1:00 pm PDT

xiaomi live stream april 22

Xiaomi is set to announce a new smartphone on Thursday in India, and you can watch along live online. The company will live stream the event from its website in English starting at 4:00 p.m. Indian Standard Time; that’s 6:30 a.m. Eastern and 3:30 a.m. Pacific.

We’re expecting Xiaomi to unveil the Mi4i at this week’s event. The new phone probably won’t be a major upgrade over the flagship Mi4, though it’s expected to pack a slightly sharper display and a larger battery. Rumor has it the new handset will also get a Snapdragon 615 processor, 2GB of RAM, 16GB of storage, a 13-megapixel rear camera, dual-SIM support and a plastic design.

Overall, the Mi4i may be more of a midrange phone, at least compared to Xiaomi’s pricier Mi Note lineup. The decision to launch in India also suggests that the company won’t be targeting its hardcore fans with this device. Still, if the Chinese upstart can keep its prices low, it should have another big hit on its hands.

We’ll have the full story on whatever Xiaomi ends up announcing on Thursday morning. The company has a tendency to surprise us at these press events, so check back soon to see what gets unveiled.

Xiaomi Android Authority

Jacob Kleinman

Jacob Kleinman has been working as a journalist online and in print since he arrived at Wesleyan University in 2007. After graduating, he took a...

Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement