WhatsApp finally brought read receipts to its immensely popular messaging apps earlier this month, and now it’s giving users the ability to disable them. If you don’t like the idea of showing your friends whether their messages to you have been read, then, you no longer have to.
The ability to show read receipts is one of the most basic features of any modern messenger, but it took WhatsApp around five years to bring this ability to its half a billion active users. When your friends and loved ones read your messages now, the little green checks that confirm they’ve been delivered turn blue to show that they’ve also been seen.
But of course, not everybody likes read receipts, and so for those who would prefer not to send them, they can now be disabled — if you’re using WhatsApp for Android, at least. Simply open up the privacy options inside the app’s settings menu, and you’ll find a check box that enables and disables the feature in an instant.
“If you turn off read receipts, you won’t be able to see read receipts from other people,” a notice inside the app reads. “Read receipts are always sent for group chats.”
While this option is only available inside WhatsApp for Android right now, it seems likely it will soon be rolled out to BlackBerry, iOS, and Windows Phone users, too.