Netflix catalogs and analyzes every movie and episode of TV you watch, but what if you want to keep some of your guilty pleasure viewing a secret? The company has a solution with its new “Privacy Mode,” which it’s currently testing with a small subset of customers.
The company confirmed the news to GigaOm, promising that “Privacy Mode” won’t record your viewing history in any way. That means it won’t show up in your list of previously viewed videos, it won’t be shared to Facebook and it won’t have any effect on its own recommendation algorithms. It’s unclear if Netflix is registering these views at all, though the information is probably still being stored somewhere.
The main advantage to private viewing is probably the ability to watch your favorite guilty pleasure movies and TV shows without letting anyone else find out, and it could be particularly useful if you share a Netflix account with multiple people. We also can’t help but wonder if Netflix is paving the way to streaming riskier content in the future, though for now there’s no guarantee “Privacy Mode” will ever make the jump from test feature to full-on adoption.