Foursquare has introduced a small new feature that promises to make checking in a lot less irritating—at least in a group setting. The previous process required each person to check-in individually. But the new way lets one person take control by checking in multiple people as if they’d checked in themselves. It’s essentially like tagging someone in a photo, or in a Facebook event.
Going forward, there’s a new “I’m with…” button that makes checking in more of a group experience. Foursquare has implemented a safety precaution, however, so you’re not checked in all over the place by friends. Users have to approve a check-in, and users can also delete unwanted check-ins on the spot, too.
It’s more communal now—as communal as things can be when your face is stuffed in your smartphone at Starbucks.