Before you ask, this downtime is scheduled…obviously, since it’s in the future. And now you understand my decision to include Bill and Ted up top. Bogus.

Starting tomorrow, March 1st, Sony will be taking the PlayStation Network down for maintenance. That downtime is planned to start at 8:00 AM PST (11:00 AM EST) and run until roughly 10:00 PM PST (1:00 AM EST, the next day).

Aside from the lengthy downtime, this scheduled outage will be a little different for Sony’s gaming public. Here’s how, according to the PlayStation Blog:

Unlike typical maintenance events, consumers who are already signed-in to PSN will be signed-out, and consumers will be unable to sign in for the duration of the maintenance window. During this time, users won’t be able to access the PlayStation Store, PlayStation Home, Account Management or play online.

PSN enabled websites will not be able to service users, including this one. Please stay tuned to the PlayStation Twitter feed for a notice when PSN is fully back online.

Sony did not indicate exactly what type of work they’d be doing during the outage. We just know it’s of the planned variety, that much we’re thankful for.

Once the network returns, gaming and entertainment will resume as per usual. We suggest you use the time to read a book, go outside, explore nature or, perhaps, sleep. We’ll be sleeping. Don’t tell our boss.

[via PlayStation Blog]